Roger P. Krumm Family Law Award

The Family Law Section and The Missouri Bar present an annual award to honor a family law lawyer who has demonstrated an exceptional degree of competence, skill, integrity, commitment, and dedication toward the improvement and advancement of the practice of family law and the children and families involved in family law matters. The "Roger P. Krumm Family Law Award" is given in honor of Roger Krumm, a family law attorney who possessed all the characteristics, skills and integrity of those who receive this award.

Due to the transition of the 2020 Annual Family Law Conference from an in-person event to an online event due to the COVID-19 public health pandemic, the chair of the Family Law Section decided that the recipient of the 2020 Roger P. Krumm Family Law Award will be announced and presented at the 2021 Annual Family Law Conference.

You may use one of the following forms to make a nomination:

Nomination criteria should include:

  • Demonstrated excellence in negotiation and trial practice
  • Participation and leadership in local and statewide family law related efforts
  • Demonstrated commitment to those involved and affected by family law matters

2019 Award Winner - Hon. Thea A. Sherry, Clayton

21st Judicial Circuit
St. Louis County, Missouri

Judge Thea A. Sherry was appointed to the 21st Circuit Court bench in 2011. Previously, she served as an associate circuit judge. Her judicial assignments since her last retention election include civil and criminal jury trials. In 2014, she was appointed the administrative judge of St. Louis County Family Court overseeing 14 domestic and juvenile judges and commissioners. During her tenure, Judge Sherry oversaw the consolidation and move of the Family Court, including over two hundred support staff, from the Family Court Center to the new facilities and detention center at the main courthouse in downtown Clayton.

Judge Sherry earned a B.A. from the University of California, Riverside and J.D. from Washington University in St. Louis. Prior to her appointment, Judge Sherry was in private practice for over 15 years focusing on juvenile and domestic matters as well as serving for many years as Guardian ad litem. She is a member of The Missouri Bar, Bar Association of Metropolitan St. Louis, a charter member of the Women Lawyer’s Association of Greater St. Louis, St. Louis County Bar Association, and the National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges.

A member of the Supreme Court’s Family Court Committee for 17 years, Judge Sherry also chaired its child support review subcommittee. She was also a member of the St. Louis County Domestic and Family Violence Council for 18 years and served as its chair from 2015-2018.
Judge Sherry currently chairs Missouri’s multidisciplinary Juvenile Justice Advisory Board.

Judge Sherry has taught evidence as an adjunct professor at Washington University School of Law for 10 years. In 2018, Judge Sherry was the recipient of the Women’s Justice Award for Public Service.

More recently, two weeks ago Judge Sherry retired as a Circuit Judge and looks forward (after September 15) to continuing to serve as a Senior Judge, Mediator, Special Master and Professor. 


Past Recipients of Award

2018 — Douglas R. Beach, Clayton

2017 — Anita Rodarte, Lee's Summit

2016 — Alan Freed, St. Louis

2015 — F. Richard Van Pelt, Springfield

2014 — Susan S. Jensen, Springfield

2013 — Ann Bauer, St. Louis

2012 — Patricia "Trish" Scaglia, Independence

2011 — Gary L. Stamper, Columbia

2010 — John S. Pratt, Jr., Springfield

2009 — Larry V. Swall, Liberty

2008 — Cary J. Mogerman, St. Louis

2007 — Allan F. Stewart, Clayton

2006 — Carla Holste, Jefferson City

2005 — Karen A. Plax, Kansas City

2004 — Michael J. Albano, Independence

2003 — Lori J. Levine, Jefferson City